BJP's Pramod Sawant Takes Oath As Goa Chief Minister

Written By Xappie Desk | Updated: March 19, 2019 16:12 IST
BJP's Pramod Sawant Takes Oath As Goa Chief Minister

Pramod Sawant (45), former Speaker of the Goa legislative Assembly and BJP MLA from Sankhelim in north Goa, was on early Tuesday morning sworn in as the 11th Chief Minister of Goa.
He was administered the oath of office and secrecy at the Raj Bhavan by Governor Mridula Sinha.
Sudin Dhavalikar of the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party and Vijay Sardesai of the Goa Forward Party are the new deputy Chief Ministers. Both had initially demanded the chief minister's post.
In the 2017 Goa polls, when the Congress emerged as the largest party in a hung verdict, it was Nitin Gadkari who had negotiated alliances to establish a BJP-led coalition with Manohar Parrikar - then Union Defence Minister -- as chief minister.
Manohar Parrikar, the BJP's tallest leader in Goa, was the party's most acceptable face for allies like the MGP and Goa Forward Party.