Filing of nominations for bypolls to 4 seats begins

Written By Xappie Desk | Updated: April 24, 2019 09:32 IST
Filing of nominations for bypolls to 4 seats begins

The filing of nomination papers by candidates intending to contest the May 19 bypolls to four Assembly constituencies in the State commenced on Monday.

On the first day, a total of four people submitted their nominations in Aravakurichi, Ottapidaram, Sulur and Tirupparankundram.
AMMK’s candidates
While the DMK has nominated former Minister V. Senthil Balaji, the AMMK on Monday named P.H. Shahul Hameed as its candidate for Aravakurichi. A native of Pallapatti, Mr. Hameed joined the AIADMK in 2001 and had served as the joint secretary of the State Minorities Wing. He is the president of the Amma Peravai in the AMMK.
T. Ramesh of the Ahimsa Socialist Party filed his nomination papers on Monday
The AMMK announced its candidates for the other byelection-bound constituencies as well.
I. Mahendran, who was elected from the Usilampatti Assembly constituency on the AIADMK’s symbol in 2006, would be the nominee for Tirupparankundram. K. Sugumar, former Pollachi MP, is the party’s candidate for Sulur, while R. Sundararaj, one of the disqualified legislators, has been chosen for Ottapidaram.
The announcement was made by AMMK general secretary T.T.V. Dhinakaran.
Meanwhile, the party submitted its application for registration with the Election Commission.
AIADMK allocates work
The AIADMK on Monday allocated work relating to the byelections to four Assembly constituencies among the functionaries of 55 district units of the party.
At the party headquarters, Chief Minister and party co-coordinator Edappadi K. Palaniswami, Deputy Chief Minister and coordinator O. Panneerselvam and senior office-bearers discussed preparedness for the bypolls.
The leadership also had a separate meeting with Ministers and party functionaries regarding the four constituencies.