Four TDP Rajya Sabha members jumped into BJP

Written By Xappie Desk | Updated: June 20, 2019 18:08 IST
Four TDP Rajya Sabha members jumped into BJP

Former Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister and TDP president N. Chandrababu Naidu, who is in abroad, spoke to Sujana Chowdary to dissuade him from leaving the party.

Mr. Chowdary confirmed that he is joining the BJP. He is expected to be joined by T.G. Venkatesh, G. Mohan Rao, and C.M. Ramesh. Mr. Venkatesh also confirmed the move.
Presently, the TDP has six MPs in the Rajya Sabha and four of them have already announced that they are joining the BJP. On Thursday, TDP MPs TG Venkatesh, YS Chowdary, GM Rao and CM Ramesh announced that they were joining the BJP. They also met Rajya Sabha chairman Venkaiah Naidu and submitted their resignation from the TDP.
In their letter to Venkaiah Naidu, the TDP MPs wrote that they were 'inspired and encouraged by the impeccable leadership of Narendra Modi' and were hence merging with the BJP.
The Rajya Sabha has a strength of 245 members and the BJP is the single largest party with 71 MPs.