General Elections 2019, Phase 5 updates

Written By Xappie Desk | Updated: May 06, 2019 12:05 IST
General Elections 2019, Phase 5 updates

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase 5 begans today. 7 states are conducting polls across 51 constituencies. The states that are going to the polls today are: Uttar Pradesh (14 constituencies), Rajasthan (12), Madhya Pradesh (7), West Bengal (7), Bihar (5), Jharkhand (4) and Jammu and Kashmir (2).

There are two more phases left before the general elections are concluded on May 19. The results will be announced on May 23.
About 8.75 crore people will decide the fate of 674 candidates in the fifth phase of the general elections.
The Election Commission of India (ECI) has set up 94,000 polling stations and has made elaborate security arrangements.
After this round of polling, elections will be over in 424 seats, leaving 118 more seats for the last two phases.
Union Minister Smriti Irani tweeted a video of a woman who claimed that she was made to vote for the Congress. The woman said that one of the officials forcibly put her finger on the Congress button.
“Alert @ECISVEEP Congress President @RahulGandhi ensuring booth capturing,” her tweet said.