Goa CM Pramod Sawant wins trust vote

Written By Xappie Desk | Updated: March 20, 2019 19:11 IST
Goa CM Pramod Sawant wins trust vote

Goa's new BJP-led coalition government of Pramod Sawant on Wednesday won a vote of confidence on the floor of the Legislative Assembly during a specially convened session.
While the government got 20 votes, the Opposition secured 15 in the 36-member truncated House of 40. Deputy Speaker Michael Lobo was in the chair as Mr. Sawant resigned from the Speaker's post to become the Chief Minister.
While the treasury benches comprised of 11 members of the BJP, three each of the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) and the Goa Forward Party (GFP) and three independents, the Opposition had 14 members of the Congress and one from the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP).