Notification for 1st Phase Lok Sabha Polls Issued

Written By Xappie Desk | Updated: March 18, 2019 16:41 IST
Notification for 1st Phase Lok Sabha Polls Issued

Notification for 1st Phase Lok Sabha Polls Issued
The first phase of the Lok Sabha Elections was issued on Monday. The election commission issued a notification signed by President Ram Nath Kovind for the first phase elections. Where opposition's amid efforts presented a united fight to unseat BJP and it's seeking for return power.
Under the first of seven-phase elections polling would be held in 91 parliamentary constituencies across 20 states on April 11.
With the issue of the notification, the nomination process has begun which would continue till March 25. Scrutiny of the nomination papers will be held on March 26 and the last day of withdrawing nomination is March 28.
By the evening of March 28, there will be a clear picture on the number of candidates in each of the 91 constituencies will emerge.
All the 10 parliamentary constituencies those include of Union Territories will go for first phase polling, Andhra Pradesh (25seats), Arunachal Pradesh and Meghalaya (two states each), Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, Andaman and Nicobar and Lakshwadeep(one seat each), Telangana (17seats) and Uttarakhand( five seats). Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, and West Bengal will also see polling in all the seven phases.
Owaisi seeks for reelection from Hyderabad: AIMIM Cheif Asaduddin Owaisi who has been representing Hyderabad since 2004 field his nomination papers to contest from Hyderabad Lok Sabha segment as election process kicked off in Telangana. As usual, elections will be held in Telangana on April 11.