Parliament Proceedings Day 2

Written By Xappie Desk | Updated: June 18, 2019 11:04 IST
Parliament Proceedings Day 2

After Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Cabinet Ministers and leaders from the Opposition took their oaths as Lok Sabha Members, the rest of the Lok Sabha is due to be sworn in on June 18, 2019.

320 Members were sworn in on June 17. Kodikunnil Suresh (INC), Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh (BJP) and Bhartruhari Mahtab (BJD) are on the Panel of Chairpersons.
Lok Sabha has declared that there will be no Zero Hour till June 20, 2019 as the swearing in, election of the Speaker and the President’s address will take place until then.
The Speaker of the Lok Sabha will be elected tomorrow. The Speaker has to be from the Lok Sabha. BJP’s Sumitra Mahajan was the Speaker in the 16th Lok Sabha. She did not contest the Lok Sabha polls.
The new Lok Sabha Speaker will be elected tomorrow. The ruling National Democratic Alliance (NDA) has not officially named their candidate. However, news agency ANI has reported, quoting sources that Om Birla will be NDA's candidate.
Birla is an MP from Rajasthan's Kota-Bundi Lok Sabha constituency.