Two Congress MLAs into TRS!

Written By Aravind Peesapati | Updated: March 04, 2019 10:46 IST
Two Congress MLAs into TRS!

Two Congress MLAs into TRS!
The Congress got a major jolt days before the March 12th MLC elections with two of its tribal MLAs, Rega Kantha Rao from Pinapaka constituency and Atram Sakku from Asifabad constituency, deciding to join the ruling TRS in Telangana on Sunday.
It was not that much surprising news as the assembly segment has a history that people vote against the ruling party in the elections but their representatives join the ruling party after the elections. Earlier, MLAs like Chandha Lingaiah, Tati Venkateswarlu, Payam Venkateswarlu etc members won assembly polls on one party ticket and later switched to another party after the elections.
This decision from Congress MLAs gave a major blowback to the party ahead of March 12th elections to five seats of the Legislative council. This resignation will reduce the party’s tally in 119-member assembly to 117.
Meanwhile, TDP MLA Sandra Venkata Veeraiah who is one of the two TDP members in the assembly is also likely to switch to the TRS. It is noted that nearly two dozen MLAs from Congress and TDP had joined TRS after 2014 assembly elections.
Whatever, TRS raised its MLA tally in the legislative assembly to 92.