Two Indian directors competing for Best Debut Award at IFFI 2019

Abhishek Shah and Manu Ashokan competes for Best Debut Director award at IFFI 2019.
Written By Aravind Peesapati | Updated: November 16, 2019 18:13 IST
Two Indian directors competing for Best Debut Award at IFFI 2019

The first film is always going to be a special one for any director. If he succeeds in making it a successful venture, it will be an icing on the cake. Every year, the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting of India, felicities the best debut director at the International Film Festival of India (IFFI), with a special ward called Centenary Award for the Best Debut Film of a Director.

This year, seven directors are competing in this category to claim the award. They are Amin Sidi-Boumédiène (Abou Leila- France/Algeria), Eva Cools (Cleo-Belgium), Abhishek Shah (Hellaro-India), Marius Olteanu(Monsters-Romania), Steven Oritt (My Name is Sara-USA), LeeChang-Geun (Romang-South Korea) and Manu Ashokan (Uyare). The two Indian directors will definitely give a tough competition to the other ones as their films are widely acclaimed around the globe.
The winner of this section will get announced on the concluding day of the festival. This year marks the 50th edition of IFFI, so it will be more special to win an award in these Golden Jubilee celebrations. The nine-day festival will kickstart on the 20th of this month and gets ended on the 28th. Thousands of cinephiles will attend this film carnival in Goa.