BCCI announces ICC World Cup 2019 Indian Team

Written By Aravind Peesapati | Updated: April 15, 2019 17:03 IST
BCCI announces ICC World Cup 2019 Indian Team

BCCI announces ICC World Cup 2019 Indian Team
Amidst the IPL fever all around, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the 15-member Indian team for ICC World Cup 2019. Chief selector MSK Prasad revealed the squad with two main exclusions. Telugu cricketer Ambati Rayudu was excluded, selecting Tamil Nadu all-rounder Vijay Shankar. Wicket-keeper Rishab Pant was replaced with Dinesh Karthik.
The team led by Virat Kohli have Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja and Kedar Jadhav in the main batting line up and Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, and Mohammed Shami were included as bowlers. Rohit Sharma is the vice-captain of the team.
As team India is struggling with the number four batsman, the selectors gave chance to Lokesh Rahul to fill the gap. “After the Champions Trophy, we tried quite a few people [at No.4]. We gave a few more chances to Rayudu. What Vijay Shankar brings is three dimensional. We are looking at him at No. 4, to begin with,” said selector MSK Prasad.
The reserves for the team will be announced on Monday which will be a ray of hope for Ambati Rayudu and Rishabh Pant who can find a place in the team if anyone picks up an injury.

Full squad
Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma (VC), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Vijay Shankar, MS Dhoni, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami