DC Abhiram instructs counting staff, polling officers on Lok Sabha counting

Written By Xappie Desk | Updated: May 21, 2019 17:07 IST
DC Abhiram instructs counting staff, polling officers on Lok Sabha counting

The meeting was headed by Deputy Commissioner Abhiram G Shankar in DC office, make action plans for the Mysuru-Kodagu Lok Sabha Constituency polls counting procedure.
He had stated that the counting will be conducted at the Maharani’s College on Valmiki Road, Padavarahalli.
Abhiram has instructed the officials to follow Election Commission guidelines carefully to keep away the confusions at the time of the counting process. He also asked them to clear on all doubts from the higher officials.
He explained the vote counting staff of their roles.
Abhiram told that “Only the counting supervisors will be allowed to carry mobile phones inside. A rehearsal will be carried out on Tuesday, May 21 at 8 AM during which the counting staff clarifies any doubts”.
He also stated that “For the staff counting slips Electronically Transmitted Postal Ballot System (ETPBS), five tables have been arranged. They should carefully scan From No. 13 C, 13 A, and 13 B and do the data entry. Never mind, if the process goes slow but do it meticulously.
“Every table will have computers, internet connection, and QR code system. Each assembly constituency will be having its own username and password. The staff must understand this procedure and for doubts, should immediately contact the Assistant Returning Officers (ARO),” he said.
Regarding the postal ballot counting, Abhiram said, “The postal ballot counting will be done under the vigilance of Returning Officer and ARO. On table 500 postal ballots will be counted. For this, one polling officer is appointed as a supervisor and also one Central government officer as Micro Observer, who will be keeping an eye on every count”.
He further stated that “Already in each counting rooms, two CCTV cameras have been installed and every process will be recorded by an appointed videographer. After every round of counting staff must take the permission of the ARO and then pass on the result to the candidates”.
About the EVM vote count, he told that “The EVM count shall be obtained by pressing the button on the machine and then in Form 17 C Part-2, the same counts shall be registered and later, the signature of the agent taken and submitted to the Returning Officer”.
“The EVM counting will be carried out after the postal ballot count only in the presence of the ARO. Once the EVM counting is done, five VVPATs will be chosen from a lot and then the counting process of the randomly selected VVPATs will be carried out”. He added.
Additional Deputy Commissioner Anuradha G, Commissioner of Mysuru City Corporation Shilpa Nag and other officers were present at the meeting.