Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Lok Sabha polls from April 11 to May 19

Written By Xappie Desk | Updated: March 11, 2019 12:10 IST
Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Lok Sabha polls from April 11 to May 19

Elections to the 17th Lok Sabha will be conducted in seven phases across the country from April 11 to May 19. The counting of votes will be on May 23, the Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora announced on Sunday.
Addressing the media, Mr. Arora said voting across the country would be held on April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19.
The Assembly election in Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Sikkim and Odisha will be conducted simultaneously with the Lok Sabha election. However, the EC is yet to take a call on the Assembly election in Jammu and Kashmir owing to the security scenario.
The election in 22 States and Union Territories will be conducted in a single phase. Two-phase elections are in Karnataka, Rajasthan, Manipur and Tripura, while Assam and Chhattisgarh will have three phases. Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra and Odisha will be covered in four phases, Jammu and Kashmir in five, and Bihar, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal in seven phases. In Anantnag, the election will be held in three rounds.
The CEC said 91 constituencies would go to the polls in the first phase, 97 in the second phase, 115 in the third phase, 71 in the fourth, 51 in the fifth, and 59 each in the sixth and seventh phases.