21 Congress ministers in Karnataka government resigns

Written By Siddhu Manchikanti | Updated: July 08, 2019 14:07 IST
21 Congress ministers in Karnataka government resigns

21 Congress ministers in Karnataka government resigns
Karnataka Congress Legislature Party leader Siddaramaiah on Monday said that 21 Congress ministers in the Congress-JD(S) coalition government have resigned. This has reportedly been done in a bid to accommodate the MLAs who last week submitted their resignations to the Assembly Speaker. Earlier, independent MLA H Nagesh resigned as minister and withdrew his support to the Congress-JD(S) government.
Meanwhile, Karnataka minister and independent MLA H Nagesh have resigned and withdrawn support to HD Kumaraswamy-led government, saying he would support the BJP. With independent MLA Nagesh withdrawing his support to the coalition government and offering to support the BJP, technically, BJP is the majority party in Karnataka now.
Here is how the number game plays out. His exit takes the total number of MLA resignations to 14, leaving the Congress-JD(S) combine with a strength of 104 in the now 210-strong Assembly. The BJP has 105 MLAs in the House, where a half-way mark is 113
If the resignations of the MLAs are accepted and not withdrawn, the Congress-JD(S) coalition would lose the majority. The coalition, which has a strength of 118 in the 224-member assembly, faces the risk of losing its majority if the resignations are accepted
On the other side, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh rubbished claims that BJP was involved in poaching the MLAs in Karnataka in the Lok Sabha. “Our party has nothing to do with what is happening in Karnataka. Our party has never indulged in horse trading,” Singh said. Even Ex-CM Siddharamaiah said the same confirming that all the MLAs resigned voluntarily.