Karnataka CM Yeddyurappa wins trust vote

Written By Siddhu Manchikanti | Updated: July 29, 2019 17:43 IST
Karnataka CM Yeddyurappa wins trust vote

Karnataka CM Yeddyurappa wins trust vote
Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yeddyurappa won the trust vote in the state Assembly on Monday. The BJP leader was sworn-in as Chief Minister last week after the Congress-JD(S) coalition government failed the floor test held on July 23. The Congress-JD(S) alliance had received 99 votes against the BJP's 105 in the floor test.
Mr Yediyurappa said he would not indulge in "politics of vengeance" as he believed in the "forget and forgive principle". "Winning the trust vote is, taking one more step closer towards a stable and strong administration. Will uphold the trust by ensuring transparent and accountable governance. I would like to thank the citizens, MLAs and each and every BJP Karyakartha for the trust placed in me," tweeted Yediyurappa on Twitter.
Meanwhile, Karnataka Assembly Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar on Monday resigned from the post after the BS Yeddyurappa-led BJP government won the trust vote. "Sometimes we have had to take some harsh decision, we are small people. We should try and not disrespect the chair that we sit on... People come and go, chief Ministers come and go, be good and do good," Speaker KR Ramesh said before he resigned.
Earlier, reports said that BJP was planning to bring a no-confidence motion against Kumar if he does not voluntarily vacate the post. Ramesh had on Sunday said that the current situation pushed him into "sea of depression".
"All that has happened with the rebels, with power - all this will go down in history... The rebels have been brought to the streets. They had special flight last time, (this time) I hear that they are getting normal flights," HD Kumaraswamy said after losing his CM chair to Yeddyirappa under dramatical circumstances .