Karnataka speaker disqualifies 14 Congress - JDS rebel MLAs

Written By Siddhu Manchikanti | Updated: July 28, 2019 16:44 IST
Karnataka speaker disqualifies 14 Congress - JDS rebel MLAs

Karnataka speaker disqualifies 14 Congress-JDS rebel MLAs
Karnataka Assembly Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar on Sunday said that he has disqualified 14 rebel Congress-JD(S) MLAs. This comes a day before Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa faces a trust vote in the Assembly. BJP's Yediyurappa was sworn-in as the CM after the Congress-JD(S) coalition government lost the floor test on July 23, receiving 99 votes against the BJP's 105.
Trust vote in Assembly to be held on 29 July, Monday. Total strength of the Karnataka assembly is 208, including the Speaker and nominated member. On 27 July, BS Yediyurappa took oath as Chief Minister of the state. Yediyurappa took the oath, succeeding HD Kumaraswamy three days after the Congress-JDS coalition government crumbled.
Former CM Siddaramaiah reacted to the news of the disqualification by tweeting, " I welcome the decision of spreaker to disqualify 14 MLAs. This honest decision of speaker will send strong signals for all the representatives in the country who might fall for BJP's trap.
On elf the Disqualified JD(S) MLAs, AH Vishwanath says he will move the Supreme Court against Speaker's decision.