Karnataka Speaker resigns post Yediyurappa’s victory

Written By Siddhu Manchikanti | Updated: July 30, 2019 11:24 IST
Karnataka Speaker resigns post Yediyurappa’s victory

Karnataka Speaker resigns post-Yeddyurappa’s victory
Karnataka Assembly Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar on Monday resigned from the post after the BS Yediyurappa-led BJP government won the trust vote. "Sometimes we have had to take some harsh decision, we are small people. We should try and not disrespect the chair that we sit on... People come and go, chief Ministers come and go, be good and do good," Speaker KR Ramesh said before he resigned.
Earlier, reports said that BJP was planning to bring a no-confidence motion against Kumar if he does not voluntarily vacate the post. Ramesh had on Sunday said that the current situation pushed him into "sea of depression".
"All that has happened with the rebels, with power - all this will go down in history... The rebels have been brought to the streets. They had special flight last time, (this time) I hear that they are getting normal flights," HD Kumaraswamy said after losing his CM chair to Yeddyirappa under dramatical circumstances.
On the other side, as expected, BJP Karnataka Chief BS Yeddyurappa won the Floor Test with 106 votes (105 BJP, 1 Independent) on Monday. 99 MLAs belong to Congress and JD (S) voted against the Trust Vote. A way for the new government in Karnataka has been paved by the disqualification of 17 MLAs by Speaker.
104 is the magic figure required to form the government. Two more than what's required to have the last laugh are with BJP. Victory in trust vote is being seen as moving one step closer towards establishing stable and strong administration by Yeddyurappa.