YS Jagan plans to increase districts in AP

Written By Siddhu Manchikanti | Updated: May 29, 2019 15:37 IST
YS Jagan plans to increase districts in AP

YS Jagan plans to increase districts in AP
The number of districts in Andhra Pradesh is likely to increase after the formation of the new government. It is learned that YS Jagan who promised to convert each Lok Sabha constituency into a new district has reportedly focussed on it and taking the feedback from the officials concerned over the feasibility factors. The revenue department has been working on it. If everything goes well then the existing thirteen districts will become 25 districts. There is a scope for the formation of a Girijan district also.
Right now, AP has 25 parliamentary constituencies. Considering this, Jagan is coming up with the idea of increasing the districts of Andhra Pradesh from 13 to 25.
Tentative New Districts
  • Araku (currently in Visakhapatnam district)
  • Anakapalle (currently in Visakhapatnam district)
  • Amalapuram (currently in East Godavari district)
  • Rajahmundry (currently in East Godavari district)
  • Narsapuram (currently in West Godavari district)
  • Vijayawada (currently in Krishna district), Narsaraopeta (currently in Guntur district)
  • Bapatla (currently in Guntur district), Nandyala (currently in Kurnool district)
  • Hindupur (currently in Anantapur district)
  • Tirupati (currently in Chittoor district), Rajampeta (currently in Kadapa district)
Tribal District
Jagan also promised to form a Tribal district (Girijana Zilla), there is some confusion on which will be announced as a Tribal District. While a few senior leaders of YCP want Jagan to announce Araku as the Tribal district, few others want the Agency region between Srikakulam and Vizianagaram as Tribal district with Parvathipuram as the Centre. It is said that Araku will be formed as a separate district and Agency region in Srikakulam and Vizianagaram will be made as a separate district.